Inter-Institutional Enrollment

If you wish to enroll during the academic year in one or more courses at another four year public institution in Maryland (participating institutions are listed below) you may take advantage of the inter-institutional concurrent enrollment process. This means that no additional tuition will be assessed for the course(s) you take at another campus. You must complete an “Application for Inter-Institutional Enrollment”. You must be a full-time student (based on the total credits at UMES plus the other institution) in good academic standing, and you must have completed any prerequisites to the course(s) you wish to take.  Courses completed under the inter-institutional rubric will appear in your record as though they were completed at UMES.

 Please note that the availability of courses at other institutions is not guaranteed.  You will be notified if the course you intend to take is full. Should you need to drop or withdraw from an inter-institutional course, contact the Office of the Registrar immediately.  Following the drop/withdrawal procedure at the institution offering the course will not suffice to terminate your enrollment.

Participation in the inter-institutional concurrent enrollment program will require you to follow all schedule deadlines and pertinent academic policies in effect at the host institution.  Failure to comply with a host institution’s deadlines and policies may result in failing grades or other academic actions which you will need to resolve with the host institution.

Because UMES students most frequently attend Salisbury University for inter-institutional study, the Salisbury University Registrar will automatically send official transcripts of  UMES students to the Office of the Registrar shortly after the end of each semester.  If you attend any other participating institution, you must have an official transcript sent to the UMES Registrar’s Office.

Please remember that inter-institutional enrollment is available only during the academic year and only at the participating institutions.  The non-UMES study form should be used in all other circumstances.  The participating institutions are the following:  Bowie State, Coppin State, Frostburg State, Salisbury University, Towson University, University of Baltimore, University of Maryland Baltimore, University of Maryland Baltimore County, University of Maryland College Park and University of Maryland Global Campus.  Inter-institutional enrollment is available at University of Maryland University College to graduate students only.

Scroll to Top