Department Directory

Click on name to see biography

Executive Committee

Dr. Sean Vasaitis, Interim Dean for the School of Pharmacy and Health Professions
Phone: (410) 651-7664
Office: 125 Somerset Hall
Email: tsvasaitis@umes.edu

Dr. Timothy Gladwell, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Assessment and Associate Professor
Phone: (410) 651-8097
Office: 124 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: tdgladwell@umes.edu 

Dr. S. Victor Hsia, Chair for Pharmaceutical Sciences and Professor 
Phone: (410) 651-8491 
Office:  227 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: vhsia@umes.edu 

Dr. Miriam Purnell, Chair for Pharmacy Practice and Administration and Associate Professor
Program Director, PBC Rural Health Disparities and Social Inequities
Phone: (410) 621-3777 
Office: 109 Somerset Hall
E-mail: mcpurnell@umes.edu

Dr. Lana Sherr, Assitant Dean for Professional Affairs and Associate Professor 
Phone:  (410) 621-2288
Office: 118 Somerset Hall
E-mail:  lsherr@umes.edu 

Dr. Fred Tejada, Interim Assistant Dean for Student Affairs and Associate Professor 
Phone: (410) 621-2123
Office: 303 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: frtejada@umes.edu

Dr. Kawanda Williams, Assistant Dean for Experiential Education and Assitant Professor
Phone: (410) 651-6120
Office: 1038 Hazel Hall
E-mail: kmwilliams3@umes.edu

Pharmaceutical Sciences 

Dr. S. Victor Hsia, Chair for Pharmaceutical Sciences and Professor 
Phone: (410) 651-8491 
Office:  227 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: vhsia@umes.edu 

Dr. Patrice L. Jackson-Ayotunde, Associate Professor 
Phone: (410) 621-3044 
Office: 208 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: pljackson@umes.edu 

Dr. Khaled Muhsen Hasan, Associate Professor
Phone: (410) 621-2323
Office: 315 Somerset Hall
E-mail: khasan@umes.edu

Dr. Adel H. Karara, Professor 
Phone: (410) 651-6186 
Office: 209 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: ahkarara@umes.edu

Dr. Madan K. Kharel, Associate Professor 
Phone: (410) 621-2230 
Office: 214 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: mkkharel@umes.edu

Dr. Miguel Martin-Caraballo, Professor 
Phone: (410) 651-6526 
Office: 226 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: mmartin@umes.edu 

Dr. Anjan Nan, Associate Professor 
Phone: (410) 651-8190 
Office:  213 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: anan@umes.edu   

Dr. Jocelyn Reader, Assistant Professor
Phone: (410) 621-3130
Office: 106 Somerset Hall
E-mail: jreader@umes.edu

Dr. Mark A. Simmons, Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Phone: (410) 621-2028 
Office: 313 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: masimmons1@umes.edu 

Dr. Fred R. Tejada, Interim Assistant Dean for Student Affairs and Associate Professor 
Phone: (410) 621-2123 
Office: 303 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: frtejada@umes.edu

Dr. T. Sean VasaitisInterim Dean for the School of Pharmacy and Health Professions 
Phone: (410) 651-7664
Office: 125 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: tsvasaitis@umes.edu

Dr. Bi-Dar (Peter) Wang, Associate Professor 
Phone: (410) 621-2240
Office: 227 Somerset Hall
E-mail: bwang@umes.edu

Pharmacy Practice and Administration 

Dr. Miriam C. Purnell, Chair for Pharmacy Practice and Administration and Associate Professor 
Program Director, PBC Rural Health Disparities and Social Inequities
Phone:  (410) 621-3777 
Office:  109 Somerset Hall 
E-mail:  mcpurnell@umes.edu

Dr. Rondall Allen, Acting Vice President for Strategic Initiatives and Professor
Phone: (410) 651-7843
Office: Suite 1104 JT Williams Administration Bldg
Email: reallen@umes.edu

Dr. Lauren Antal, Assistant Professor
Phone: (410) 621-2121
Office: 212 Somerset Hall
E-mail: lnantal@umes.edu

Dr. Yen H. Dang,  Associate Professor and Director of Global Health 
Phone: (410) 651-8169 
Office: 210 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: ydang@umes.edu

Dr. Tosin David, Assistant Professor 
Phone: (410) 651-6801
Office: 1040 Hazel Hall
E-mail: tdavid@umes.edu 

Dr. Richard A. DeBenedetto, Assistant Professor
Phone: (410) 621-2250
Office: 206 Somerset Hall
E-mail: radebenedetto@umes.edu 

Dr. Dana R. Fasanella, Assistant Professor  
Phone: (410) 621-3085 
Office: 212 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: drfasanella@umes.edu 

Dr. Timothy D. Gladwell,  Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Assessment and Associate Professor 
Phone: (410) 651-8097
Office:  112 Somerset Hall
E-mail: tdgladwell@umes.edu

Dr. John Jordan, Associate Professor 
Phone: (410) 543-7054 
Office:  306 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: jtjordan@umes.edu

Dr. Michael Miller, Assistant Professor 
Phone: (410) 677-6683 
Office: 306 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: mtmiller@umes.edu

Dr. Nkem P. Nonyel, Associate Professor and Director of Student Organizations
Phone: (410) 621-2077
Office:  1041 Hazel Hall
E-mail:  npnonyel@umes.edu

Dr. Marie-Therese Oyalowo, Associate Professor and Director of Drug Information
Phone: (410) 621-3045
Office:  1048 Hazel Hall
E-mail: moyalowo@umes.edu

Nancy Rodriguez-Weller, Assistant Professor and Director of Community Initiatives
Phone: (410) 621-3086
Office:  1042 Hazel Hall
E-mail:  nrodriguezweller@umes.edu

Mr. Gregory Shaeffer, Assistant Professor
Phone: (410) 651-6355
Office: 302 Somerset Hall
E-mail: gkshaeffer@umes.edu 

Dr. Lana Sherr, Assistant Dean for Professional Affairs and Assistant Professor  
Phone: (410) 621-3130 
Office: 118 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: lsaad@umes.edu

Dr. J. Tyler Stevens, Director for Experiential Education and Assistant Professor
Phone: (410) 621-3007
Office: 1039 Hazel Hall
E-mail: jtstevens@umes.edu

Dr. Hoai-An Truong, Professor and Director of Public Health
Phone: (410) 651-8975
Office: 304 Somerset Hall
E-mail: htruong@umes.edu

Dr. Kawanda Williams, Assistant Dean for Experiential Education and Assitant Professor
Phone: (410) 651-6120
Office: 1038 Hazel Hall
E-mail: kmwilliams3@umes.edu

Professional Staff

Mrs. Helen Branch, Information Technology Specialist
Phone: (410) 651-6998
Office: 127 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: hbranch@umes.edu 

Mrs. Diana Calcagno, Experiential Education Coordinator, Experiential Education
Phone: (410) 651-7478 
Office: 1034 Hazel Hall 
E-mail: dlcalcagno@umes.edu

Ms. Pamela Douglas, Administrative Assistant, Dean of School of Pharmacy and Health Professions
Phone:  (410) 651-8327
Office:  121 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: pldouglas@umes.edu

Dr. Lynn Lang, Director of Assessment 
Phone:  (410) 621-2060 
Office:  112 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: llang@umes.edu

Mrs. Sharon R. Neal-Horsey, Admissions Coordinator 
Phone: (410) 621- 2292 
Office: 116 Somerset Hall 
E-mail: snhorsey@umes.edu 

Ms. Pamela Polk, Administrative Assistant, Pharmacy Practice and Administration
Phone: (410) 651-7782
Office:  107 Somerset Hall
E-mail: papolk@umes.edu

Mrs. Verne Shaw-Johnson, Administrative Assistant, Pharmaceutical Sciences
Phone:  (410) 651-8496
Office:  107 Somerset Hall 
E-mail:  vshawjohnson@umes.edu

Dr. Rick Ward, Admissions Recruiter
Phone: (410) 621-2298
Office: 120 Somerset Hall
E-mail: rtward@umes.edu

Ms. Jonda White, Administrative Assistant, Office for Student Affairs
Phone: (410) 621-3089
Office: 117 Somerset Hall
E-mail: jjwhite3@umes.edu

Scroll to Top