

## UMES FACULTY ASSEMBLY

Meeting Minutes April 17, 2018 11:00am Frederick Douglas Library

## **UMES Faculty Assembly Board**

Dr. LaKeisha Harris- Chair Dr. Mark Williams-Chair-Elect Dr. Donna Satterlee- Secretary Dr. Maryam Rahimi-Treasurer Mr. Joseph Bree- Parliamentarian Dr. Dean Cooledge- Immediate Past Chair

## **Faculty Assembly Councilors**

Dr. Willie Brown Dr. Sungjae Hwang Dr. Yeong-Nain Chi Dr. Byungrok Min Dr. Eric May Dr. Simon Zebelo Dr. Bill Chapin Ms. Marilyn Buerkle Dr. Cynthia Cravens

- I. Welcome and Introductions Called to Order at 11:10
  - a. Research Symposium is happening at the same time.
- II. Approval of Minutes from February 20, 2018 Motion to approve, Bill Chapin, seconded by Joseph Bree.
- III. Paul Lewis presented information on the HAWK WALK on April 28<sup>th</sup>, 9:00 check-in, starts at 10:00. 2 <sup>1</sup>/<sub>2</sub> mile walk, starts at Hytche. Music, food, games and more. We are urging people to participate. They will take blood pressure at the beginning of the walk for those who desire the service.
- IV. Center for International Education- Dr. Lombuso Khoza Launching Peace Corp prep. That will happen on April 26<sup>th</sup>. There is information available. Taste of UMES will happen in early May. Please sign up, and bring a dish with food.
- V. New Business
  - a. It would be nice if the councilors were appointed in May so that we can create a list of Assembly representatives. The councilor's job should be a pipeline back to the departments.
  - b. The faculty assembly needs to elect the 16 people who will be Senators.
  - c. The next assembly meeting will be on May 15. Hopefully, we will be able to announce the new officers.



- d. Nominations for Faculty Assembly Positions- Joseph Bree
  - i. Joseph Bree will send the call for nominations. Please ask the nominee before sending the name forward if they will serve if elected.
  - ii. A ballot will be prepared by Joseph Bree,
- e. Chair Elect is a two-year commitment, as they become the chair next year. Current chair elect is Mark Williams, who will be the chair next year.
- f. It has been moved by Bill Chapin that the nominations will be closed at COB on April 20. Friday, Marilyn Burkle made the second. The motion passed.

Nominated today, and will be on the ballet:

- i. Chair-Elect
- ii. Secretary Donna Satterlee
- iii. Treasurer Bill Chapin
- iv. Parliamentarian
- VI. Updates/Announcements –Marilyn. Burkle How to tie a tie, with a free tie 5:30 pm in 1111 Wilson. Please encourage students to come.
  BOC will do a story.
  Commencement is the 25<sup>th</sup> of May.
- VII. Adjourn Motion to adjourn 11:31

Attendance:	Unit	Councilor
Lombuso Khoza	CIE	No
Bill Chapin	MCS	Yes
Mark Williams	MCS	Yes
Marilyn Buerkle	DML	Yes
Coach Nelson	Kines	No
Adrienne Webber	FDL	No
LaShawn Nastvogel	Kines	No
Sungjae Hwang	Kines	Yes
Terry Smith	English	No
Chris Harrington	Fine Arts	No
Donna Satterlee	HUEC	Yes
Joseph Bree	FDL	



Engineering & Aviation Science Complex, Suite 3046, Princess Anne, MD 21853 Tel: (410) 651-6507 Fax: (410) 651-7571